The Greater Portland Economic Development District (GPEDD), staffed by Greater Portland Inc, is a not-for-profit organization working in Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington counties in Oregon and Clark County in Washington. GPEDD is funded primarily through grants awarded by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration (EDA), and Greater Portland’s designation as an Economic Development District qualifies projects that align with the CEDS within the district to receive funding from the EDA.

GPEDD oversees the development and implementation of the Greater Portland Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) which focuses collective efforts to establish regional goals, objectives, and to guide partner efforts. The 2022 – 2027 CEDS was developed in direct partnership with Metro and engaged community leaders and private sector partners to establish a blueprint for regional collaboration.

Greater Portland Economic Development District Board of Directors

GPEDD is managed by a Board of Directors representing principal economic interests in the region, including the private sector, public officials, community leaders, workforce development, higher education, minority and labor groups, and private individuals. The GPEDD Board of Directors convenes quarterly.

Mike Bomar    
Director of Economic Development    
Port of Vancouver

Kimberly Branam    
Executive Director    
Prosper Portland

Mayor Frank Bubenik    
City of Tualatin

Maria Caballero Rubio    
Executive Director    
Centro Cultural

Carmen Castro    
Executive Director    
Hispanic Metro Chamber of Commerce

Monique Claiborne    
President & CEO    

Dr. Tim Cook    
Clackamas Community College

Dan Dias    
Economic and Community Development Director    
City of Hillsboro

Chad Freeman    
Director of Corporate Development    
Henningsen Cold Storage Co

Alan Garcia    
Senior Director, Customer Acquisition    
NW Natural

Jason Green    
Managing Director, CBRE    

Stephen Green    
Director of Operations    

Jarvez Hall    
Interim Director    
East Metro STEAM Partnership

Ashley Henry    
Executive Director    
Business for a Better Portland

Andrew Hoan    
President & CEO    
Portland Business Alliance

Jesse Hyatt    
Executive Director    
Black American Chamber of Commerce

Dwayne Johnson    
Civic Technology Ventures

Debbie Kitchin    
InterWorks LLC

Tom Markgraf    
Director, Public Affairs    

Jan Mason    
Philippine American Chamber of Commerce of Oregon

Andrew McGough    
Executive Director    

Mel Netzhammer    
Washington State University Vancouver

Skip Newberry    
President and CEO    

Amanda Oborne    
President & Executive Director    
Oregon Entrepreneurs Network

President Lynn Peterson    
Metro Council    

Matt Ransom    
Executive Director    

Tamara Kennedy-Hill    
Director of Economic Development    
Port of Portland

Commissioner Martha Schrader    
County Commissioner    
Clackamas County

Shannon Stadey    
Economic Development Services Director    
City of Gresham

Commissioner Lori Stegmann    
County Commissioner    
Multnomah County

Graham Trainor    
Oregon AFL-CIO


Stay up-to-date

The board meets quarterly. Board directors receive instructions via email to join the meetings. Upcoming 2023 meetings:

  • 2 p.m. April 27 via Zoom
  • 2 p.m. July 27 via Zoom
  • 2 p.m. Oct. 26 via Zoom

See minutes for past meetings below: